Maggie Cardelús
USA, 1962
Maggie Cardelús is the daughter of an American mother and a Spanish father and has dual nationality. She has lived in various countries and cultures, including Spain, where she spent two years. She currently lives and works in Milan. In 1985 she completed a Bachelor of Arts degree in Art History and Studio Art at Wellesley College, and in 1988 she was awarded a Master of Architecture by Columbia University’s Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation in New York. She also holds a Master of Fine Arts in Combined Media (Hunter College, New York, 1992). She has won a number of prizes, including Wellesley College’s Ploggsterth Prize in Art for her undergraduate thesis in the specialisation of drawing and printmaking, and a Silver Medal awarded by the Royal Academy of Arts (both in 1985). In 1988 she was also awarded the Lucille Smyser Lowenfish Prize in Architecture by Columbia University. In 1985 she took part in a group exhibition of monotypes and drawings held at Wellesley College, but her professional career really took off in 1992 with the presentation of Installation 4 in Liverpool and Installation 5 in New York. In 1993 Installation 6 was presented at her first solo exhibition, held in Milan, and in 1995 Installation 10 was showcased at Galería Fúcares in Almagro, the first solo exhibition of her work in Spain. Since then her work has been featured in exhibitions at her Madrid gallery, Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac in Paris, and Galleria Kaufmann Repetto in Milan. She combines her artistic activity with teaching. The domestic sphere, family issues and children are the themes Maggie Cardelús returns to most frequently in work. This is reflected in the materials she uses. The installation-sculpture Transformation and Dispersal (1997), for example, includes a parlour lamp, and Flower Zoo (2003) features a cut-out photograph of her son.
Mariano Navarro

Artworks by the artist included in the Collection Artworks by the artist included in the Collection

  • Transformation and Dispersal / 1997

  • Flower Zoo / 2003